The Collected Regrets of Clover


Price:
Sale price$28.00
Stock:
Available for Special Order

Description

Named a Best Book of 2023 by NPR

"This weird, lovely and sweetly satisfying novel [is] engaging and accessible...Clover's emergence from a shuttered life is moving enough to elicit tears, and Brammer's take on death and grieving is profound enough to feel genuinely instructional." --The New York Times Book Review


What's the point of giving someone a beautiful death if you can't give yourself a beautiful life?

From the day she watched her kindergarten teacher drop dead during a dramatic telling of Peter Rabbit, Clover Brooks has felt a stronger connection with the dying than she has with the living. After the beloved grandfather who raised her dies alone while she is traveling, Clover becomes a death doula in New York City, dedicating her life to ushering people peacefully through their end-of-life process.

Clover spends so much time with the dying that she has no life of her own, until the final wishes of a feisty old woman send Clover on a trip across the country to uncover a forgotten love story--and perhaps, her own happy ending. As she finds herself struggling to navigate the uncharted roads of romance and friendship, Clover is forced to examine what she really wants, and whether she'll have the courage to go after it.

Probing, clever, and hopeful, The Collected Regrets of Clover is perfect for readers of The Midnight Library and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine as it turns the normally taboo subject of death into a reason to celebrate life.

Author: Mikki Brammer
Binding Type: Hardcover
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Published: 05/09/2023
Pages: 320
Weight: 1.08lbs
Size: 9.48h x 6.40w x 1.22d
ISBN: 9781250284396


Review Citation(s):
Library Journal Prepub Alert 12/01/2022 pg. 12
Library Journal 02/01/2023 pg. 66
Kirkus Reviews 04/01/2023
Booklist 04/15/2023 pg. 31
Shelf Awareness 05/12/2023
BookPage 05/01/2023

About the Author
Mikki Brammer is an Australian journalist based in New York City, by way of France and Spain. She writes about design, architecture and art for publications such as Architectural Digest, Dwell and ELLE Decor. The Collected Regrets of Clover is her debut novel.

You may also like

Recently viewed