Thank You, Omu! (Caldecott Honor Book)


Price:
Sale price$18.99
Stock:
Available for Special Order

Description

A Caldecott Honor Book

In this cozy, sweet story perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street as well as for the Thanksgiving season, a generous woman is rewarded by her community. A Spanish edition, Gracias, Omu!, is also available.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?

Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.

Don't miss Saturday, also written and illustrated by Oge Mora!


Author: Oge Mora
Binding Type: Hardcover
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 10/02/2018
Pages: 40
Weight: 1.05lbs
Size: 11.31h x 9.38w x 0.50d
ISBN: 9780316431248
Audience: Ages 4-8

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 3.2
Point Value: 0.5
Interest Level: Lower Grade
Quiz #/Name: 199108 / Thank You, Omu!


Award: Caldecott Medal - Honor Book
Award: John Steptoe New Talent Award - Winner
Award: Ezra Jack Keats Book Award - Winner


Review Citation(s):
Shelf Awareness 10/12/2018
Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2018 pg. 65
School Library Journal 07/01/2018 pg. 55
Booklist 07/01/2018 pg. 68
Kirkus Reviews 08/15/2018 pg. 182
Publishers Weekly 08/27/2018
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Superior,Well Above Average

About the Author
Oge Mora graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in illustration. When not painting in her studio, Oge is in the kitchen cooking her late grandmother's recipes. Her first picture book, Thank You, Omu!, was a Caldecott Honor, a New York Times Notable Book and Editors' Choice, and a Junior Library Guild selection. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island, and invites you to visit her website at www.ogemora.com.

You may also like

Recently viewed