She Is a Haunting


Price:
Sale price$18.99
Stock:
Available for Special Order

Description

Instant New York Times and Indie Bestseller!

This house eats and is eaten . . .

"A riveting debut from a remarkable new voice! Trang Thanh Tran weaves an impressive gothic mystery in which Jade's father is determined to restore a decrepit home to its former glory and Jade is the only person who feels the soul-crushing devastation of colonialism lingering within its walls." --Angeline Boulley, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Firekeeper's Daughter

A House with a terrifying appetite haunts a broken family in this atmospheric horror, perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic.

When Jade Nguyen arrives in Vietnam for a visit with her estranged father, she has one goal: survive five weeks pretending to be a happy family in the French colonial house Ba is restoring. She's always lied to fit in, so if she's straight enough, Vietnamese enough, American enough, she can get out with the college money he promised.

But the house has other plans. Night after night, Jade wakes up paralyzed. The walls exude a thrumming sound while bugs leave their legs and feelers in places they don't belong. She finds curious traces of her ancestors in the gardens they once tended. And at night Jade can't ignore the ghost of the beautiful bride who leaves cryptic warnings: Don't eat.

Neither Ba nor her sweet sister Lily believe that there is anything strange happening. With help from a delinquent girl, Jade will prove this house--the home they have always wanted--will not rest until it destroys them. Maybe, this time, she can keep her family together. As she roots out the house's rot, she must also face the truth of who she is and who she must become to save them all.

Author: Trang Thanh Tran
Binding Type: Hardcover
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Published: 02/28/2023
Pages: 352
Weight: 1lbs
Size: 8.59h x 5.81w x 1.23d
ISBN: 9781547610815
Audience: Young Adult


Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 11/14/2022
Kirkus Reviews 11/15/2022
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 01/01/2023
Foreword 12/27/2022
Booklist 01/01/2023 pg. 65
School Library Journal 08/04/2023 pg. 1

About the Author
Trang Thanh Tran writes speculative stories with big emotions about food, belonging and the Vietnamese diaspora. They grew up in a big family in Philadelphia, then abandoned degrees in sociology and public health to tell stories in Georgia. When not writing, they can be found over-caffeinating on iced coffee and watching zombie movies. She Is a Haunting is their debut novel. Connect with them on Twitter @nvtran or their website www.trangthanhtran.com.

You may also like

Recently viewed