Measuring Up


Price:
Sale price$13.99
Stock:
Out of Stock - Email for Special Order

Description

An ALA Top 10 Graphic Novel of 2021 - A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection - Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List - Featured in Today Show's AAPI Heritage Month List - Amazon Best Books November Selection - Cybils Awards Finalist - An NBC AAPI Selection - Featured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issue - A CBC Hot off the Press October Selection - WA State Book Awards Finalist - Texas Library Association Little Maverick Selection

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is a don't-miss graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!

"A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world." --Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops

"A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures." --Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má's, seventieth birthday together.

Since she can't go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids' cooking contest to pay for A-má's plane ticket! There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.

And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?



Author: Lily Lamotte
Binding Type: Paperback
Publisher: Harperalley
Published: 10/27/2020
Pages: 208
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.40w x 0.60d
ISBN: 9780062973863
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 3
Point Value: 1
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 509849 / Measuring Up


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 09/15/2020 pg. 112
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2020
Booklist 10/15/2020 pg. 40
School Library Journal 10/30/2020 pg. 1
Publishers Weekly 11/16/2020
Shelf Awareness 11/17/2020
Horn Book Magazine 03/01/2021 pg. 94
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2021 - Superior,Well Above Average

About the Author
Xu, Ann: -

Ann Xu is an Ignatz-nominated cartoonist and illustrator. She graduated from the Maryland Institute College of Art with a BFA in illustration. Visit Ann at www.annixu.com.

Lamotte, Lily: -

Lily LaMotte graduated from Hamline's Writing for Children and Young Adults program with an MFA. When she isn't writing, she's cooking up new recipes and supporting her library system as a KCLS Foundation board member. Measuring Up is her debut graphic novel. Visit her at www.lilylamotte.com.

You may also like

Recently viewed